decorative bar


corner Last update of this page: July 17th 2006 corner
Denholm Mitchell Elliott
(May 31, 1922 - October 6, 1992) U.K.

Denholm Elliott



Denholm was born in Ealing, London, the son of Nina (née Mitchell) and Myles Laymen Farr Elliott. He attended Malvern College, trained at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Arts in London but dropped out. He joined the Royal Air Force, where he served as a radio operator and gunner, during World War II. His plane was shot down over Germany in 1942 and he spent the rest of the War in Stalag 8B POW camp in Silesia, and served in a prisoner-of war camp where he organized a theatrical group.

After the War he immediately joined a stock theatre company and was discovered by Laurence Olivier which led to a distinguished stage and film career. He made his film debut in 1949. He went on to play a large range of parts, generally specialising in the "typical" English gentleman. He was nominated for an Academy Award for his supporting role in "A Room With a View".

Denholm was well known for his stage, film and television appearances on both sides of the Atlantic, he was much-loved character actor who specialised in playing slightly sleazy/slightly eccentric and often flawed upper middle class English gentlemen. It's quite difficult to categorize Denholm except to say that he was a "scene stealer". He could play alcoholics, professors, clerics, soldiers, butlers and just about everything else. He performed with the Royal Shakespeare Company.

In the 1988 New Year's Honours List, Elliott was awarded the CBE for his services to acting.

Elliott was married twice (the first time to the British actress, Virginia McKenna) and had children, (although he was strongly suspected being gay - a fact that remains unproven - though he was most likely bisexual). He died in Ibiza, Spain, of AIDS-related tuberculosis which he contracted after a transfusion of infected blood.


Denholm ElliottHe apparead in several movies, as:

  • Dear Mr. Prohack (1949)
  • The Holly and the Ivy (1952)
  • The Cruel Sea (1953)
  • Station Six - Sahara (1963)
  • King Rat (1965)
  • Alfie (1966)
  • The Night They Raided Minsky's (1968)
  • Too Late the Hero (1970)
  • A Doll's House (1973)
  • Voyage of the Damned (1976)
  • Robin and Marian (1976)
  • A Bridge too Far (1977)
  • The Boys from Brazil (1978)
  • Rude Awakening (1981)
  • Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981)
  • Trading Places(1983)
  • Brimstone and Treacle
  • A Room with a View (1986)
  • Maurice (1987)
  • Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)
  • Toy Soldiers (1991)
  • Noises Off (1992)
Click on the letter E to go back to the list of names

corner © Matt & Andrej Koymasky, 1997 - 2008 corner