decorative bar


corner Last update of this page: May 25th 2003 corner
Rob Halford
(August 25, 1951 - living) U.K.

Rob Halford

Heavy metal rock singer and musician


Born in Walsall, he was a member of the British rock band "Judas Priest" formed in the mid 1960s. He had been a theatrical lighting engineer. He was a vocalist in the band Hiroshima with the drummer John Hinch before they both joined Judas Priest in 1973.

Rob Halford temporarily fronted the band Black Sabbath in November 1992 at the Pacific Ampitheatre in Los Angeles when their lead singer Ronnie James Dio refused to take the stage. In June 1993, after a long court case the Judas Priest were found not guilty of inciting suicide by backward messages on their track Better By You, Better Than Me.

Rob Halford was inspired by the more aggressive music of bands like Pantera, Skid Row, and Metallica, and he formed the group Fight to produce music which he thought was not appropriate for Judas Priest. However arguments with other members of Judas Priest led to him and the drummer Scott Travis leaving the band. Fight toured and produced albums including A Small Deadly Space with lyrics that touched on AIDS.

In 1996 Rob Halford started a new band Halford. In 1998 he started the band Two which consisted of just himself and the guitarist John Lowery. They signed with Trent Reznor's Nothing label. On the MTV programme Superrock in February, 1998 he said: 'I think most people know that I've been a gay man all my life. It's something I've been comfortable with forever'.


Source: The Knitting Circle, U.K. - http://www.sbu.ac.uk/stafflag/people.html


  • Rocka Rolla (1974)
  • Sad Wings Of Destiny (1975)
  • Sin After Sin (1977)
  • Stained Class (1978)
  • Best Of Judas Priest (1978)
  • Unleashed In The East (1979)
  • Hell Bent For Leather (1979)
  • British Steel (1980)
  • Point Of Entry (1981)
  • Screaming For Vengeance (1982)
  • Defenders Of The Faith (1983)
  • Turbo (1986)
  • Priest... Live! (1987)
  • Ram It Down (1988)

  • Painkiller (1990)
  • Trouble Shooter (1992)
  • Beyond Metal (1992)
  • Light Comes Out of The Black (1992)
  • Metal Works '73-'93 (1993)
  • War of Words (1993)
  • Mutations (1994)
  • A Small Deadly Space (1995)
  • The Best Of Judas Priest (1995)
  • Voyeurs (1998)
  • Resurrection (2000)

  • Dream Deceivers: The Story Behind James Vance Vs. Judas Priest (1992)
Click on the letter H to go back to the list of names

corner © Matt & Andrej Koymasky, 1997 - 2008 corner