decorative bar


corner Last update of this page: September 1st 2002 corner
Eloy de la Iglesia
(January 1, 1944 - living) Spain

Eloy de la Iglesia



Film and TV director, born in Zarauz, Guipuzcoa, to a family belonging to the Basque bourgeisie. De la Iglesia is an openly gay Spanish filmmaker, referred to by many as Spain's Fassbinder. Although risky during the Franco regime, Iglesia has been outspokenly gay, and his films are very popular in Spain, although virtually unknown in the United States.

His lover was José Luis Manzano, and his deathwas to leave de la Iglesia completely shattered with grief. He went through a period of profound crisis, from which he started to emerge only in the mid-1990s.

His films have often featured gay characters, and several have homosexual themes, including Colegas (Pals); El Sacerdote (The Priest), which was banned by the Catholic Church and heavily censored when initially released; and his "gay trilogy" of Los Placeres Ocultos (Hidden Pleasures, the first gay film produced in Spain), El Diputado (The Deputy, or Confessions of a Congressman), and Running Against the Wind.

Iglesia says that he talks "about the world of which the majority of filmmakers do not care to speak, the marginal world... I am the one who always wants to make the films that are not supposed to be made. I'm the one interested in the subjects that everyone else has agreed not to talk about."


Films: Eloy de la Iglesia

  • Fantasía... 3 (1966)
  • Algo amargo en la boca (1969)
  • Cuadrilatero (1970)
  • El Techo de cristal (1971)
  • La Semana del asesino (1971)
  • Una Gota de sangre para morir amando (1973)
  • Nadie oyo gritar (1973)
  • Juego de amor prohibido (1975)
  • Los Placeres ocultos (1976)
  • La Otra alcoba (1976)
  • La Criatura (1977)
  • El Sacerdote (1978)
  • El Diputado (1978)
  • Miedo a salir de noche (1979)
  • Navajeros (1980)
  • Colegas (1980)
  • La Mujer del ministro (1981)
  • El Pico (1983)
  • El Pico II (1984)
  • Otra vuelta de tuerca (1985)
  • La Estanquera de Vallecas (1987)
  • Caligula (2001)
Click on the letter I to go back to the list of names

corner © Matt & Andrej Koymasky, 1997 - 2008 corner