decorative bar


corner Last update of this page: August 21st 2004 corner
Pauline Oliveros
(1932 - living) U.S.A.

Pauline Oliveros

Musician, composer


Oliveros' career and history as a new music pioneer date to the early 60's when she became the first Director of the Tape Music Center at Mills College. She then moved to a fourteen year stay at the University of California at San Diego, where she was a vital part of that institution's world-reknown new music program.

Oliveros, based in Kingston, New York since 1981, has performed worldwide as a soloist on her just tuned accordion and with the Deep Listening Band. As a composer her recent awards include the Bessie Award from Dance Theater Workshop for Contenders (1991) a work for Susan Marshall Dance Company, A Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts in 1992 for composing Epigraphs in the Time of Aids for the Deep Listening Band and a grant from the Foundation for Contemporary Performance 1994 for her work.

Her most recent compact disc Pauline Oliveros and American Voices (1994) is already gathering critical acclaim. Njinga the Queen King (1992) a major work of music theater was created in collaboration with playwright/director Ione and presented during the Next Wave Festival at Brooklyn Academy of Music in December 1993.

Seeking to support the creation of new works, their presentation and dissemination Oliveros established Pauline Oliveros Foundation Inc. in Kingston, NY - a non profit program for the arts in 1985. Currently she is the president and founder.

She serves now as Distinguished Research Professor of Music at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and as Darius Milhaud Composer in Residence at Mills College. Oliveros is considered the originator of today's meditational music, and is the composer of Sonic Meditations and Deep Listening Pieces. Her music and philosophies have been an inspiration to all forms of meditative art. Pauline has written articles for the Leonardo Music Journal.


Click on the letter O to go back to the list of names

corner © Matt & Andrej Koymasky, 1997 - 2008 corner