decorative bar


corner Last update of this page: August 24th 2004 corner
Thomas Pasatieri
(October 20, 1945 - living) U.S.A.

Thomas Pasatieri



Thomas Pasatieri was born in Brooklyn, New York. He was an accomplished pianist and performer by the age of ten and a composer at age fifteen. As a teenager, he studied with the renowned French teacher, Nadia Boulanger. He entered The Juilliard School at age sixteen and eventually became the school's first recipient of a doctoral degree.

Pasatieri composed and wrote the libretto for his first opera, The Trysting Place, while an undergraduate at Juilliard. His first staged opera was The Women, a one-act work based on an original story. It premiered at the 1966 Aspen Festival and won the competition contest for that year. Among his 17 operas, his best known work is The Seagull, which received its world premiere recording in 2003.

He has composed hundreds of songs, which have been performed and recorded by famous artists. A prolific composer for chorus, Mr. Pasatieri's works include Mornings Innocent, which was premiered and recorded by the Los Angeles Gay Men's Chorus. Among his instrumental works are several sonatas.

Pasatieri has taught composition at Juilliard, the Manhattan School of Music and Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music. From 1980 through 1984, he held the post of Artistic Director at Atlanta Opera. In 1984, he moved to Los Angeles, where he formed his film music production company, Topaz Productions.

He currently resides in New York City.


Source: E NOTE

  • La Divina (1966)
  • Padrevía (1967)
  • Black Widow (1972)
  • The Trial of Mary Lincoln (1972)
  • Signor Deluso (1974)
  • Washington Square (1976)
  • Before Breakfast (1980)
  • Three Sisters (1986)
  • The Seagull (1972)
  • Heloïse and Abelard (1971)
  • Rites of Passage (1974)
  • Three Poems of James Agee (1974)
  • Canciones del barrio (1983)
  • Three Sonnets from the Portuguese (1984)
  • Sieben Lehmannlieder (1988)
  • Three Poems of Oscar Wilde (1998)
  • Letter to Warsaw (2003).

Website: http://www.thomaspasatieri.com

  • Permit Me Voyage (1974)
  • The Harvest Frost (1993)
  • Bang the Drum Loudly (1994)
  • Mornings Innocent (1995)
  • Invocation (1968)
  • Theatrepieces (1987)
  • Concerto for Piano and Strings (1994)
  • Sonata for Viola and Piano (1995)
  • Quartet for Flute and Strings (1995)
  • Sonata for Flute and Piano (1997)
  • Windsong (2001).
Film music:
  • Fried Green Tomatoes (1991)
  • Scent of a Woman (1992)
  • The Shawshank Redemption (1994)
  • American Beauty (1999)
  • Erin Brockovich (2000)
  • White Oleander (2002)
Click on the letter P to go back to the list of names

corner © Matt & Andrej Koymasky, 1997 - 2008 corner