decorative bar


corner Last update of this page: November 6th 2002 corner
May Sarton
(May 3, 1912 - July 16, 1995) U.S.A.

May Sarton

Writer and poet


May SartonMay was born at Wondelgem, Belgium, as Eleanor Marie Sarton. Forced to flee after the invasions of the Germans, she and her family emigrated to the USA when she was four. She lived in New England most of her life. Her early passion was the theatre. May studied at the Shady Hill School in Cambridge. After high school she joined a repertory theatre company and within two years had formed her own theatre company and worked with them as director, actress and producer for four more years.

May taught at Harward and Wellesley. She admitted to having loved many people in her lifetime. Her lovers, including Juliette Huxley (wife of Julian Huxley of wom she was also a lover), were her poetic muses and she sought them and discarded them frequently. She had one long relationship, with Judith Matlack, "for whom I did not write a great many poems, I am sorry to say". Many of her former lovers remained dear friends thoughout her life. May died of breast cancer, surrounded by them, in her New England home.


Source: excerpts from: Aldrich R. & Wotherspoon G., Who's Who in Contemporary Gay and Lesbian History, from WWII to Present Day, Routledge, London, 2001

Picture from Robert Giard, Particular Voices: Portraits of Gay and Lesbian Writers

  • Encounter in April (1937)
  • The Single Hound (1938)
  • Inner Landscape (1939)
  • Bridge of Years (1946)
  • The Undergound River (1947)
  • The Lion and the Rose (1948)
  • Shadow of a Man (1950)
  • A Shower of Summer Days (1952)
  • The Land of Silence (1953)
  • Faithful Are the Wounds (1955)
  • The Birth od a Grandfather (1957)
  • In Time Like Air (1957)
  • I Knew a Poenix (1959)
  • Cloud, Stone, Sun, Vine (1961)
  • The Small Room (1961)

  • A Private Mythology (1965)
  • Mrs. Stevens Hears the Mermaids Singing (1965)
  • A Palant Dreaming Deep (1968)
  • Kinds of Love (1970)
  • As We Are Now(1973)
  • Journey of a Solitude (1973)
  • Collected Poems (1974)
  • Crucial Conversations (1975)
  • A World of Light (1976)
  • The Hours by the Sea (1977)
  • A Reckoning (1978)
  • Recovering (1980)
  • Anger (1982)
  • At Seventy (1984)
  • After the Stroke: a Journal (1988)
Click on the letter S to go back to the list of names

corner © Matt & Andrej Koymasky, 1997 - 2008 corner