decorative bar


corner Last update of this page: November 7th 2004 corner
Fernando Vallejo
(October 24, 1942 - living) Colombia - Mexico

Fernando Vallejo

Writer, filmwriter, biologist


Born in Medellín, he lives since 1971 in Mexico. He was born and raised in Medellín, though he abandoned his hometown early in life. He started studies in Philosophy at the National University of Colombia in Bogotá, but after one year he abandoned the Faculty of Philosophy and Letters. Soon after he began new studies on biology at the Universidad Javeriana in Bogotá, which he finished. Then he spent one year in Italy at the film academy Cinecittá, where he obtained basic notions on cinema.

He then returned to Colombia with the project of filmmaking. Yet after difficulties with the Colombian Government in producing and, after he produced it, in presenting his first film (it was censored), he decided to leave his country.

In Mexico he produced and distributed three films about the violence in Colombia. He has been living in Mexico since 1971, where he not only produced his cinematographic pieces, but also the whole of his literary work. Despite time spent in other locales, mainly Europe and the United States, all of his novels take place in Colombia. Some of his themes are grammar, biology, philosophy, physics, violence, pederasty, adolescence, drugs, death and politics, mostly related to places such as Antioquia and Medellín; yet his main theme is his life. His books are written in first person, in an autobiographical style.

Vallejo is also a great lover of dogs and other animals. He has made public his desire that upon his death his wealth and royalties be used to rescue stray dogs from the streets of Colombia.

In April 2007, Vallejo obtained Mexican citizenship and published a letter in which he publicly renounced his Colombian nationality. The letter presents the reasons for his decision by mentioning several incidents during his career, among them the recent reelection of president Uribe, that eventually led him to this decision.


His work include:

  • Cronica roja (1979)
  • Barrio de campeones (1981)
  • En la tormenta (1982)
  • La Virgen de los sicarios, (Our Lady of the Assassins, 2000)
Click on the letter V to go back to the list of names

corner © Matt & Andrej Koymasky, 1997 - 2008 corner