decorative bar


corner Last update of this page: November 20th 2002 corner
Jeannette Winterson
(August 27, 1959 - living) U.K.

Jeannette Winterson



Jeannette WintersonBorn in Manchester, she became the adopted daughter of Pentecostal Evangelist parents, and was a preacher by age 8. She rebelled against her upbringing, and was kicked out by her family when she came out at 15. Her upbringing and training for evangelistic service, as well as the realization of her lesbian identity, were drawn on for her first novel Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit, which was successfully adapted for TV in 1990.

The author of such provocative recent novels as Sexing the Cherry, Written on the Body, and Art and Lies, lives in England, and she is very spicy and engaging when she gets personal. "I am a writer who happens to love women. I am not a lesbian who happens to write," she states in The Semiotics of Sex, where she also argues that the "Queer World" misreads art as sexuality and that a great deal of gay writing about the AIDS crisis is therapy and release - but not art.



  • Oranges Aren't the Only Fruit (1985)
  • Boating for Beginner (1985)
  • Fit for the Future; The Guide for Women Who Want to Live Well (1986)
  • The passion (1987)
  • Sexing the cherry (1989)
  • Written on the Body (1992)
  • Art and Lies (1994)
  • Art Objects (1995)
  • Cut Symmetries (1997)
  • The World and Other Places (1998)
  • The powerbook (2000)
Website: http://JeanetteWinterson.com
Click on the letter W to go back to the list of names

corner © Matt & Andrej Koymasky, 1997 - 2008 corner